Norman Black to ask...
Clear all

Norman Black to ask PBA for review of Game 2 officiating

1 Posts
1 Users
Alvin Fadullon
Joined: 4 years ago
Posts: 234
Topic starter  

Norman Black expressed his displeasure over how the calls went in Game 2 but the Meralco head coach would rather air his grievances in the proper forum instead of through the media.

“We’ll just do it the correct way,” said Black in a interview with Tiebreaker Times just moments after the Bolts absorbed a 99-93 loss to Brgy. Ginebra in the second game of the 2021 PBA Governors' Cup Finals.

“We’ll call the office and ask them to review,” he added. “And, get their opinion on some of the calls. It’s hard to complain in public, guys. Doesn’t always do you any good."

The defeat deprived the MVP-owned franchise of a commanding 2-0 lead in the best-of-seven championship series and reduced their duel with the defending champions into a best-of-five.

One play in particular that Black would like the league to take a second look was Tony Bishop's putback midway in the payoff period which cut the Gin Kings' lead to just two. The 2-time PBA Best Import awardee felt that a foul should've been whistled on Justin Brownlee.

In the succeeding play, a foul was called on Raymond Almazan for bumping a driving Christian Standhardinger who made the basket.

In another play, a foul was called on Bishop for bumping a driving Brownlee who also made the shot.

Black felt that Bishop should've been awarded with a three-point play since the referees called a foul on the Bolts twice for almost the same amount of contact.

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker